BOROUGH OF LONGPORT RESOLUTION 2020-29 APPOINTING MEMBERS TO THE BOROUGH OF LONGPORT FLOODPLAIN MANAGEMENT PUBLIC INFORMATION COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, as an active participant in FEMA's Community Rating System (CRS) program, the Borough of Longport has determined that it is necessary to form a Floodplain Management Public Information Committee, consisting of municipal officials and community stakeholders, to assist in evaluating existing information disseminated by the Borough regarding floodplain management, and to develop new public information needs; and

WHERAS, flood insurance premium rates are discounted to reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from the community actions meeting the three goals of the CRS;

- 1. Reduce flood damage to insurable property
- 2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP
- 3. Encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management

WHEREAS, the Community Rating System credits local initiatives to advise people about flood hazards, flood insurance, flood preparation and safety, the natural functions of floodplains and flood loss reduction measures; and

WHEREAS, the Borough currently participates in the Atlantic Cape Multi-Jurisdictional Program for Public Information, a local Floodplain Management Public Information Committee is required; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Governing Body of the Borough of Longport formally establish a Floodplain Management Public Information Committee to evaluate existing public information and develop new public information needs.

The following persons are hereby appointed to the Floodplain Management Public Information Committee: James Leeds, Sr., Commissioner of Finance

John Stroeble, Resident, Past Commissioner of Public Safety

Christopher Berenotto, Public Works Supervisor

Joe Baumgardner, Resident, Retired Police Officer, past OEM Coordinator

Leonard Geria, Resident, local Builder, member of the Longport Planning Board

Suzy Lawler, Resident and local Realtor

Shawn Seilback, Summer Resident, Insurance Agent, President of the Non-Resident Advisory Board

Pat Armstrong, Resident, Captain Margate City Fire Department, Captain Longport Volunteer Fire Department

Richard Hirsch, Resident, Building Department Supervisor, Member of the Longport Planning Board

Joseph Marcasciano, Resident, local Builder, Member of the Longport Planning Board

Sean O'leary, Resident, Construction Management Supervisor

Stefan Douglas, Resident, Architect

Bruce A. Funk, Zoning/Floodplain Administrator, CRS Director

RECORD OF GOVERNING BODY VOTE ON FINAL PASSAGE										
COMMISSION	AYE	NAY	N.V	A.B.	MOT.	SEC.				
RUSSO	Х				Х					
LEEDS	Х									
LAWLER	Х					Х				
	X-Indi	ote l	NV-Not	Voting	AB-Abse	nt	MOT-Motion	SEC-Second		

This is a Certified True copy of the Original Resolution on file in the Municipal Clerk's Office.

DATE OF ADOPTION: 2/19/2020

MONICA KYLE, RMC, MUNICIPAL CLERK