Find more about Weather in Longport, NJ
Click for weather forecast

Borough of Longport
Borough of Longport Code Book
Code Book

Clean Water New Jersey

Opening July 1st
Every Saturday 8:30 am to 12 noon (weather permitting)
Last market on September 2nd
For more information please visit us on Facebook

American Mile
Registration

Tax Assessor

Jeffrey R. Hesley, CTA
Office Hours 
Wednesday Evenings 5:00pm-8:00pm 
(609) 823 – 2731 extension 103 FAX (609) 823 - 1781

 

The Tax Assessor's Office is responsible for placing valuations on all real property throughout the city and makes sure the tax burden is equally distributed among the property owners. 
The office handles numerous inquiries from citizens and real estate professional, such as deed information and property data. The office grants deductions to qualified senior citizens, disabled person, as well as, veterans and widows of veterans. Each year the assessor defends assessments of property at the court level and keeps abreast of current real estate trends, methods of appraisal, and real estate laws.

2011 Revaluation Notice

TAX APPEAL INFORMATION

Property Tax - Tax Search

Tax Map

Sandy Tax Assessment Reduction Letter

Tax Appeals: Please note that you cannot appeal your taxes, only your assessment. If you are dissatisfied with your tax assessment, you may speak with the tax assessor. If, after speaking with the assessor, you wish to contest your assessment, you may file an appeal to the Atlantic County Board of Taxation. This may be done between February 1st to April 1st each year.

Click here for more detailed information pertaining to tax appeals from the Atlantic County Board of Taxation.

Property Tax Deduction for Veterans or Surviving Spouses
In 1999, voters approved a constitutional amendment to increase this deduction. Previously $50, the deduction increase is in $50 increments until reaching a maximum of $250: i.e. tax year 2000 deduction-$100; tax year 2001 deduction-$150; tax year 2002 deduction-$200; and tax year 2003 and thereafter deduction-$250.

TO QUALIFY, you must be an honorably discharged US Armed Forces war veteran, or the unmarried surviving spouse of such a war veteran or the surviving spouse of a serviceperson who served in time of war and died while on active duty.

You must be a property owner and a legal resident of New Jersey and, where applicable, prove that the deceased veteran or serviceperson was a legal resident of New Jersey.

Eligibility criteria must be met as of October 1 of the year prior to the tax year for which deduction is claimed.

Claim Form V.S.S. must be filed with the municipal tax assessor or tax collector.


$250 Real Property Tax Deduction for Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons or Surviving Spouses
An annual $250 deduction from real property taxes is provided for the dwelling of a qualified senior citizen, disabled person or surviving spouse (widow/widower).

TO QUALIFY, you must be by December 31 of year before year deduction is requested a senior citizen, age 65 or older, or a permanently and totally disabled individual, unable to be gainfully employed, or a surviving spouse, age 55 or more and age 55 at time of spouse's death.

You must be a legal resident of New Jersey for one year immediately prior to October 1 of the year before the year for which the deduction is requested.

You must be an owner of and a permanent resident in the dwelling on October 1st of the year before the year for which the deduction is requested.

Income may be no more than $10,000 during the year for which the deduction is requested, excluding, with restrictions, monies received from social security, or Federal Government pension, disability and retirement programs or State, County, Municipal pension, disability and retirement programs.

Claim Form PTD must be filed with the municipal tax assessor.


Property Tax Exemption for 100% Disabled Veterans or Surviving Spouses
Certain permanently and totally disabled war veterans or the surviving spouses (widows/widowers) of such disabled war veterans and servicepersons are granted a full property tax exemption on their dwelling house and the lot on which it is situated.

TO QUALIFY, you must be an honorably discharged veteran, who had active service in time of war in the US Armed Forces, or the unmarried surviving spouse of such a disabled veteran. Surviving spouses of servicepersons who died in active service in time of war also qualify. Disability must be certified as 100% permanent and total by the United States Veterans Administration.

You must be the owner and a permanent resident in the dwelling and legal resident of New Jersey. In the case of surviving spouses, the deceased spouse must also have been a legal resident of New Jersey.

Claim Form D.V.S.S.E. must be filed with the municipal tax assessor.